Fintech enrollment form
The Michigan Liquor Control Commission has unanimously adopted Administrative Order No. 2023-01 that requires all payments by retailers to distributors for the purchase of beer, wine, or mixed spirit drinks be made by electronic funds transfer (EFT) payment. The effective date for this Order is March 31, 2023.
Atlas has selected Fintech to provide alcohol retailers a secure, hassle-free way to pay alcohol deliveries electronically.
Their electronic system streamlines your alcohol payments. This process alleviates business interruptions and speeds up deliveries by an average of 15 minutes each time you receive alcoholic beverage products.
To enroll in Fintech, fill out this enrollment form on the Fintech website.
If you have questions, please call Sandie Van Nortwick at (269) 968-9758 or send an email to
Server Training Requirements
For the office State of Michigan Licensing and Regulatory Affairs (LARA) Server Training Requirement page, click here.
TIPS Training is available on-line. Use the following links to access the appropriate training.
You can also go to http://www.gettips.com/etips.html and enter one of the following referral codes: 477406 (On Premise), 477407 (Off Premise), 477409 (Gaming), 447408 (Concessions), or 477410 (University).
These are affiliate links and Atlas does get a small commission for referring their customers. You are charged no additional cost for using our affiliate links for the training. However if you prefer, you can access the courses at http://www.gettips.com/etips.html and not use a referral code for your training.
TIPS Training FAQ
What are legal requirements for training?
The MLCC requires training for on-premise customers when more than 50% of a license transfers, new license is issued, or by order of the MLCC as a result of a violation.
What types of training are available?
There are multiple training programs available which the MLCC has approved for Michigan use. This list from the MLCC separately lists training program options.
Is there a charge?
Yes. The cost for in class training through Atlas is $50 per person trained. This is a break even charge to cover the costs of the manuals and test corrections by the independent TIPS program. State law prohibits a wholesaler from giving anything of value to any retail licensee. Therefore we have to charge our costs.
Can training be performed at a licensee’s establishment?
No. The training program requires access to internet for videos, worksheets, space for participants to take notes and so on. Also, from our experience in training the percentage of those passing the class drops when inside the typical work environment. Going to an offsite location improves participant focus and makes this seem more serious. For those reasons we train at our location.
What are the requirements to pass?
At the end of the session participants must pass a multiple choice test. They need to achieve a 70% score or better to pass. Once they pass the test, they receive state approved certification for a 3 year period. If you are hiring new help, it’s a good idea to consider hiring people who have current state certification particularly if having certified employees on duty at all times is a requirement of the MLCC.
How long does the training session last?
We generally plan on an on-premise class lasting for 4.5 to 5 hours minimum. Each class is different and the time necessary to complete the class and tests depend on the participants focus, questions and ability to learn the material to a level necessary to pass the exam. During the class we will provide information, do skills training, and practice skills learned.
What are the topics and benefits of training my staff?
The class centers on learning legal liability for bars and restaurants and working together with management to create an environment where the establishment is safe from violations. The main focus areas are around checking and knowing what is a valid ID, determining if the patron is 21, recognizing signs of visible intoxication, cutting patrons off professionally and safely when they are becoming visibly intoxicated and protecting the account from any drunk driving liability. Better trained staff may have fewer turnovers. The establishment may be more profitable if the number of fights, intoxicated patrons loitering or harassing others is reduced. We stress the need for management and employees to work together and the need of employees to understand the policies and procedures put in place by ownership for each account. Having a trained staff may also get you a discount in liquor liability insurance.
When does the training happen?
We don’t do training on any formal schedule. We will hold classes for any customer who has a need. If we have more than one customer interested in training a smaller number of employees, we may combine the class to offer a session for more than one account to get an efficient number of people.
How do I prove my staff has passed?
We keep copies of all examinations and send them to DC for certification. After the tests are graded each participant who has passed will receive a card. We keep copies of these cards in our files so there is a record and the original cards are returned to the establishment for their records or for them to distribute to the employees.
If you have any other questions or want to schedule a class, please ask your salesperson or contact Atlas Sales. We sincerely thank all of our customers for their interest and participation in making sure that all alcohol sales in our area are safe and legal.